Texas International Produce Association

Industry leaders to be honored at TIPA banquet

Leaders of the Texas produce industry will be honored January 24th, 2022 at the Texas International Produce Association’s Hall of Fame Banquet. The Texas Produce Hall of Fame was established in 1988, and has since presented 150 living and posthumous awards and 24 Scott Toothaker Awards to people who have contributed a large part of their lives to the betterment of the produce industry throughout Texas.

The inductees to be honored as leaders among the farming or sales industry of fresh produce in Texas will be the Wiesehan Family, including: John F, Raymond, Richard, Kenneth, George, John and Roger. A posthumous award will also be given to Abel Salazar of Salazar Farms. Scott Fletcher and Harold Wilkins will be honored as the 2022 recipients of the Scott Toothaker Award for their dedication and service as partners to the industry. The Scott Toothaker Award was established in 1989 for individuals who are not directly involved in production agriculture, but who have made immense contributions nonetheless.

The Hall of Fame, one of the association’s most treasured events, is held every other year by the Texas International Produce Association for the last 34 years. This banquet provides the opportunity for industry members to pay tribute to the leaders and role models who paved the way for future generations in the produce industry. In addition, the banquet also serves as a fundraiser for the William E. Weeks Agricultural Scholarship, established to encourage future generations to carry on the hard work of past leaders and pursue education in the field of specialty crop agriculture.

For more information:
Hector Garza
Texas International Produce Association
Tel: +1 (956) 581-8632

Publication date:

Receive the daily newsletter in your email for free | Click here

Other news in this sector:

Sign up for our daily Newsletter and stay up to date with all the latest news!

Subscribe I am already a subscriber